Ahmaud Arbery.

Ahmaud Arbery was murdered whilst out jogging.

When I heard about the tragic death of Ahmaud Arbery this week, I was not expecting it to affect me in the way that it has.

Everything about his death is so upsetting. How two men armed themselves to kill him, based off of suspicion and assumption. They took his life because they ‘thought’ he was responsible for a string of burglaries… and that is a justifiable reason to take someone’s life?

The only way to approach Ahmaud was by arming themselves with guns, when he was not armed. Their minds were made up, he was guilty and somehow dangerous.

Whenever I catch myself, thinking about how he was killed, it upsets me because I automatically think what if someone I knew was in that same situation. And so many people are and have been in situations, where they are just living their lives, and end up being shot and killed. And what if those responsible are police officers? Will justice still be served?

“I Just Want To Live”

The Hate U Give (2018):

“It is impossible to be unarmed when our Blackness is the weapon that they fear”

Leave a comment