Jamila Woods. BETTY.

On one of my trips to Central London to scout out my new place of work and office, I popped into Chipotle to grab something to eat as I was feeling a little peckish after racking up my steps exploring the capital. As I was chowing down on my burrito/salad bowl and tortilla chips, two thoughts crossed my mind:

[Thought 1]: “I think I am going to struggle to finish this bowl, I am getting full already.”
[Thought 2]: “The song that is playing sounds really good, I need to remember the lyrics so I can search for it when I get home.”

You’re probably thinking why didn’t I just search for the song there and then. However because my phone had very low battery I had turned it off to try and conserve the battery life.

The lyric that I tried hard to remember was, ‘I am not your typical girl, throw away that picture in your head.’

When I got home, I managed to identify the song as ‘BETTY‘ and discovered that the version I heard in Chipotle was in fact the remixed version, aptly named ‘BETTY (for boogie)‘. I’ve got to say both versions are great but I think I’m starting to prefer the original, which is more stripped back.

What appealed to me about the song was that I thought it sounded like a Disclosure-produced track with vocals from, ‘Lorine Chia.’ How wrong I was when I discovered that it was in fact not a Disclosure song and that the vocals belonged to ‘Jamila Woods’. A singer whose name I was familiar with but whose music I was unfamiliar with.

After getting a taste of BETTY, I’m looking forward to exploring more of Jamila Wood’s discography…I’m already loving her song ‘ZORA.’


Leave a comment